About NORA

NORA stands for The National Oilheat Research Alliance, it was authorized by Congress in 2000 to provide funding that would allow the oilheating industry to provide more efficient and more reliable heat and hot water to the American Consumers. As a government sanctioned “check-off” program, $0.002 is collected at the wholesale level on every gallon of heating oil sold. While it is mandatory, the benefits greatly outweigh the minimal cost.

Michael Devine

The four key arms of NORA are Professional Education, Energy Efficiency & Safety, and Research.

Professional education, through the Technician Certification Program, provides continuing education, training and certification for oilheat service technicians. Lastly, NORA funding has helped a number of manufacturers to develop highly efficient heating equipment, such as condensing boilers and furnaces, variable speed furnaces, variable burners and number of other technologically advanced, highly efficient products.

Additionally, improving the basic fuel has been one of NORA’s highest priorities and has resulted in Bioheat® fuel…clean, environmentally friendly, American grown.

NORA also funds a number of projects at its Liquid Fuels Laboratory in Plainview, NY.

(703) 340-1660
600 Cameron Street, Suite 206, Alexandria, VA 22314

Michael Devine

Dr. Thomas Butcher
Director of NORA Laboratory

Neehad Islam
Research Engineer

Ryan Kerr
Research Engineer

Michael Vianese-Persch
Engineering Intern

Richard Sweetser
Research & Development

Bob O’Brien
Director of Education

John Levey
Research & Technical Consultant

Don Farrell
Communications & Online Training

NORA Directors

Roger Marran
Energy Kinetics

Will Berry
Berico Fuels

Rick Bologna
Westmore Fuel

Jay Buehler
Jacobus Energy

Mario Bouchard
Granby Industries

Peter Buotte
CEC Fuel

Greg Childs
Main Care Energy

Ralph Carlo
Cents-Able Oil

Steve Clark
Genesee Energy

Matt Cota
Vermont Fuel Dealers Association

Kevin Conti
Conti Oil

David Coyne
Coyne Oil & Propane

Mark Caspers
Nebraska Biodiesel Board

Kirk Darby
Huguenot Fuels

Kate Duffey
Duffey & Sons

Sandra Farrell
Northborough Oil

Chris Fazio
Approved Oil

Randy Groff
Griffith Oil

Scott Hacker
Woodford Oil

J.S. Hackett
Global LP

Allison Heaney

Justin Jeffers
Beck Oil

Hal Johnson
K.B. Johnson

Michael Lamperelli
Frank Lamperelli

Dan Mattice
Reinhardt Corp.

Roger Marran
Energy Kinetics, Inc.

Brent Moore
Moore Balliew Oil Co.

Steve Oehlert
Oehlert Brothers


Leann Pannebianco
Panco Petroleum

Bobby Parlett
Burch Oil Company

Steve Powers
The Granite Group

Krystn Schweitzer
Sprague Energy

Gary Sippin
Sippin Energy

Claudette Townsend
Dear River Co.

Charlie Uglietto
Cubby Oil

Carter Vaillancourt
Daigle Oil

Mike Van Doren
Van Doren Oil

Scott Vadino
Oil & Energy Service Professionals

Dave Walton
Clean Fuels Alliance America