NORA stands for The National Oilheat Research Alliance, it was authorized by Congress in 2000 to provide funding that would allow the oilheating industry to provide more efficient and more reliable heat and hot water to the American Consumers. As a government sanctioned “check-off” program, $0.002 is collected at the wholesale level on every gallon of heating oil sold. While it is mandatory, the benefits greatly outweigh the minimal cost.

Michael Devine
President

The four key arms of NORA are Professional Education, Energy Efficiency & Safety, and Research.

Professional education, through the Technician Certification Program, provides continuing education, training and certification for oilheat service technicians. Lastly, NORA funding has helped a number of manufacturers to develop highly efficient heating equipment, such as condensing boilers and furnaces, variable speed furnaces, variable burners and number of other technologically advanced, highly efficient products.

Additionally, improving the basic fuel has been one of NORA’s highest priorities and has resulted in Bioheat® fuel…clean, environmentally friendly, American grown.

NORA also funds a number of projects at its Liquid Fuels Laboratory in Plainview, NY.

NORA
Phone:(703) 340-1660
600 Cameron Street, Suite 206, Alexandria, VA 22314

Michael Devine
President
mdevine@noraweb.org

Dr. Thomas Butcher
Director of NORA Laboratory
tbutcher@noraweb.org

Neehad Islam
Research Engineer
nislam@noraweb.org

Ryan Kerr
Research Engineer
rkerr@noraweb.org

Richard Sweetser
Research & Development
rsweetser@noraweb.org

Bob O’Brien
Director of Education
robrien@noraweb.org


Bob Hedden
Education & Training
bobh@vermontel.net

John Levey
Research & Technical Consultant
jlevey@noraweb.org

Don Farrell
Communications & Online Training
 
 

NORA Directors

Chair
Roger Marran
Energy Kinetics

Will Berry
Berico Fuels

Rick Bologna
Westmore Fuel

Jay Buehler
Jacobus Energy

Mario Bouchard
Granby Industries

Peter Buotte
CEC Fuel

Greg Childs
Main Care Energy

Matt Cota
Vermont Fuel Dealers Association

Kevin Conti
Conti Oil

Mark Cuspers
Nebraska Biodiesel Board

Kirk Darby
Huguenot Fuels

 

Kate Duffey
Duffey & Sons

Sandra Farrell
Northborough Oil

Chris Fazio
Approved Oil

Susan Hammond
J.W. Pierson

Hal Johnson
K.B. Johnson

Joe Keenan 
Keenan Energy Co.

Michael Lamparelli
Frank Lamparelli

Dan Mattice
Reinhardt Corp.

Roger Marran
Energy Kinetics, Inc

John McCusker
Global Partners LP

Steve Oehlert
Oehlert Brothers

Leann Pannebianco
Panco Petroleum

Bobby Parlett
Burch Oil Company

Steve Powers
The Granite Group

Deanna Sherman
Dead River Co.

Gary Sippin
Sippin Energy

Claudette Townsend
Dear River Co.

Scott Vadino
F.W. Webb

Carter Vaillancourt
Daigle Oil

Dave Walton
National Biodiesel Board